Cancer in Basset Hounds 3 Steps Forward 1 Step Back

8 Apr

buford woo with cancer

Dealing with Basset Hound Cancer – Over 4 Months Since the Cancer Returned.  Two Years Since the Initial Surgery.

I write today’s post with heavy heart. I have a basset hound who is almost 13. He’s running around galloping with his little friends and running laps around a 3.5 acre farm field. He’s eating, snuggling, and going to the bathroom like he always does–never has accidents and is just as good as gold.  Last post I told you that he appeared to be straining when he would defacate, but this was only sometimes. Quite honestly, sometimes he’s go just fine in big piles. Other times more like a squiggle.  I thought I had better get him checked out, something told me just to be sure.

Let me first back up as, a lot has happened since my last post.

Supplement Mayhem

I had added some natural supplements to his diet. I stressed over whether I should give them to him or not, but after doing some research on some supplements that are made to aid people with cancer, I picked apart some of the compounds and opted to get a lot of drugs in from Swanson. Their drugs are cheap, but my concern was that some are mixed with rice flour, some may contain magnesium sterate , gelatin or other compounds I’d rather not have. If you tried to obtain all of this naturally you would be paying $100 for a 10 day supply, give or take. Truth is you can stress all you want should you, shouldn’t you, but since something I felt was better than nothing,  the supplements I added were  $100 and would last him three months.

Quercetin 500 mg  & Bromelain 156mg

Tumeric 720 mg

Apigenin (Bioflavadiod) 50mg

Resveratrol 100mg

L-Selenomethionine (Selenium) 100mg

DIM Complex 100mg

Chrysin (Passion Flower Extract) 5.7 – 500 mg

Immediate results were profound. This combined with everything else he has gave him pure immunity burst and energy burst.  His coat remained shiny and he smells like vegetables, he runs and plays and my husband and I thought, wow, this must be helping in some way.   Now I want to add when I first read about what some people were doing for their dogs I thought it crazy to be giving them 30 different pills. Now I feel like I’m that person. I suppose you can mix a bit of science with herbal knowledge and kid yourself that these things may produce a miracle cure.  Who knows, maybe the right combination it would. Or, you can simply grab at desperation to do something, anything, as crazy as it sounds to save your dog.

Personal Chefs to the Dog

I told myself I will try everything for my dog. I owe him that. My husband has joined the bandwagon and loves cooking up steaks or chicken every few nights for Buford. We make sure to do it just right, and bag it in portions so our freezer and fridge looks like no one eats in the house except him.  When you boil the chicken, the stock is priceless, we boil it and the bones down down into a thick substance, and this can be used in your processor to help flavor the kale or collard greens.

Buford is especially fond of fresh uncooked kale , fresh uncooked collard greens would be second,  but not broccoli. That has to be lightly steamed and blended and often it gives him gas so he doesn’t particular like it, though I’ll sneak it in every few nights. I steer clear of lots of carrots as these are sugary carbs but because I’ve read what wonders they have inside I will sometimes grind a half one up into oblivion for him.

I have cut him off all carbs. No rice, no oats, nothing. The only fats he gets are the natural fats on steak, chicken, chicken skin, fat from stock and pork back fat which is fried up for him and I add in the fish oil or olive oils.

We also play the pill game every night. This is where I give him the pills, and he spits them out, in hopes for another piece of chicken. If I get really mad and hold up the pill, he will swallow it in one gulp–bare pill,  just like that. He and I have a great communication system. Hell, I’ve been talking to him in human language for 13 years.  I have had other dogs in my life, and all I’ve loved but not like this. Just like people each dog’s personality is different. Sometimes you can really hit it off.

Vampire Therapy

My previous vet of 26 years finally called, and after some tough negotiation with the biopuncture  et on my own accord it comes full circle that I had to take Buford back into his practice for another treatment with her. Sadly over a month had passed so I was not sure if it would do him good but I believe in her work and I don’t understand why ever single biopuncture person I called across the United States doesn’t believe in PRP or blood injections. Let me further explain this. If you’ve seen this perhaps on Dr. Oz? People are getting this done all the time, women are paying big money for facelifts and Kim Kardashian has gotten her butt blood injected into her face.  It is supposed to map print your body into re-jump starting the immune system and making your skin look younger in humans. So in dogs, we can only hope it will jump start their resistance and immune system. Does it work? Well, Buford seems to love it.

The thing with this was I had to weigh if the stress of taking him there again if this was worth the treatment itself, but I wanted to say I’d tried everything possible with my dog.  As you can recall I was having a fit because she wouldn’t do a house call (even though her website said so) due to an agreement with my regular vet; who denied such agreement existed, and told me she could do whatever to help Buford.  By that point she didn’t want to do anything to help Buford because I threatened to write about my experience and basically reamed her out. ( What else can I do as a customer who is getting the runaround and while vets are playing the blame game the dog is the only one missing out.) These days it seems reviews are the only recourse you have. Seems it was a huge miscommunication but it boils down to if my regular vet of 26 years would have returned my call none of this miscommunication would have ever existed and her and I would not have bad kharma or any words. Truth is, she’s a very bubbly person and I really liked her upon first impression. I would probably finance her work in her field if she opened her own practice because I believe what she’s doing for dogs is way better than conventional medicine.   I see her office as having one of those fountains so that the water trickles and calms your dog when you take them there. I should add that truth be told she did finally offer to come to my house but explained to me that doing house calls on a dog this size, trying to draw his blood by herself for use of treatment would be an issue should he get upset. That would make him not like her or trust her, and well, I wouldn’t be much help (because the whole blood drawing thing makes me pass out. )  So I debated and  took him in and she took him back and voila another blood biopuncture round of shots.  He was doing well initially but later in the day slept like a baby.

Proof Positive : Did all this Holistic Therapy Work?

Ironically the next day is when I had my scans set up with my new vet that I switched to. I had been petting him and found a mass in his chest.  I was thinking the cancer had spread there and wanted to get him sonagrammed.  I also notice that sometimes, not always, he strains to poop.

What was I expecting? Consider that my old vet thought this would be slow growing, and I was worried it was some form of Lymphoma that is common and quick spreading.  I thought the scans at the new vet would not indicate that he’d be cancer free, but that somehow by doing everything I’ve been doing with special diet and holistic herbs and proteins, big superfoods would have either stunted the growth in the node, or gotten only slightly bigger.

I am heartbroken.

Buford’s cancer in his node did not only grow from 3.75cm to “coconut” size but it has spread into his other back node which is also “coconut” size.  There is what appears to be visible damage to his spleen, kidneys and liver, due to the cancer  or the fact he’s old age, or both. This of course means it only a matter of time  (a month or less, maybe weeks, maybe days) before the nodes should grow so large, that he would be backed up and not defaecate at all. That won’t happen because we will put him down before this happens.

How do I put down a dog who runs, jumps, plays and pulls me up the road for a walk? 

The truth is I wrote this blog to show you that my dog has lived four months with cancer in his lymph nodes, just as happy and playful as ever, in the best health and shape of his life, feeling no pain, eating good and taking nutrients from superfoods, vitamins, natural supplements and holistic treatments and I’d never do things differently.  I feel as though God has a part in all of this, and if death is a reward then Buford deserves his angel wings. He’s gotten me through times of my life that I thought I’d surely lose it – a divorce,  a layoff, the death of my mother, he’s been there for me. Now I’ve been there for him. He’s  proven to me that it’s the quality over life not the quantity of life that surely matters. Life each day as if it is your last.

We have made the decision if he doesn’t show signs of going down, to put him down by the end of this month.  We would rather do that than see him suffer. Each day we do special things and spend special time together. 

Although it doesn’t feel right to take his life away,  we feel quality of life is best.

As for me, I’ll probably have a nervous breakdown. Cancer has taken my grandfather, my grandmother, my mother, and now my dog. I never knew basset hounds were prone to cancer. How ironic that I’m even working on a cancer themed barbecue and music festival to raise awareness and money for CancerCare.org.

I hate you cancer. I hope someday big pharma stops aiding your cause and the little guy finds a cure.

Hey, maybe I should have tried this:  http://phkillscancer.com

2 Responses to “Cancer in Basset Hounds 3 Steps Forward 1 Step Back”

  1. Rayya April 13, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear about Buford’s diagnosis. You truly love him and you will know exactly when is the right time. You have gone over and beyond for him and you share a very special bond. Don’t give yourself deadlines on when it is the best time to let him go. Enjoy every precious moment you have together, take it day by day. He will let you know when he is ready. The most important thing is what you said, quality of life prevails over quantity. Big supportive hug.

    • Ira Mency May 9, 2013 at 2:11 am #

      Thank you, and you right. I’m glad I didn’t put him down when I originally had wanted as he’s doing so very well now.

Leave a Reply

