Mushroom Caps for Dogs With Cancer Imyunity Magic Mushrooms

7 Mar
magic mushroom cancer

magic mushroom from graphicsfairy

Now, all kinds of mushrooms have been used in Asian therapy for centuries and their claims in that civilization is to have healing properties on humans. Modern Medical science here in the states has done studies and found “certain types are helpful to those with cancer”.

Particularly known to help cancer is one mushroom called Coriolus Versicolor, or the Asians call it Yunzhi. It is also sometimes referred to as the Turkey Tail mushroom however I caution against the Turkey Tail mushroom capsules if they do not specifically name the Coriolus Versicolor mushroom on the label Extracting the Polysaccharide Peptide also called PSP compounds of if has proven beneficial and recognized as a supplement to give to cancer patients.

So even though you thought mushrooms were poisonous to dogs, one company has proved to extend the life of dogs.  I had called the folks over at I’Munity to see about their mushroom caps for Buford.   They gave a grant to Penn State to do some research on the caps, and it turns out they had very good results, in fact most of the dogs lived twice as long as anticipated with the cancer.  The main wonder ingredient is Polysaccharide Peptide (PSP)  something found in mushrooms and supposed to be very beneficial in fighting cancer cells.  However, I’Munity’s proprietary blend has been given credit for being one of the best! Buford is about 63 lbs and so they said he would require 7 caps a day. A 60 day cap supply is $95.  This means every 9 days would be $95. Even getting a larger package makes the drug less expensive  for him but still very expensive if you are taking this route.

Let’s also remember they are suggesting 400 mg x 7 caps = 2800 mg of PSP so it is a lot of magic mushrooms going into my dog in order to make a a difference.

So what proof  is there on this magic mushroom ?

Wikipedia claims that PSP is a anti tumor drug.

This website shows the medical studies and results and how effective PSP was on different types of cancer. Read how PSP fought cancer cells.

Here is great information from Cancer.org.

Finding the right type of magic mushrooms: 

Most caps are low dose or contain low amounts, or percentages of PSP meaning you will need several caps a day to really make much difference. Most inexpensive brands claim they are between 100 and 300 mg capsules,  25% and 30%, but it’s the fillers that you must worry about.  I haven’t really looked at the inert ingredients but gere is a 500 mg supplier in Canada,.

Some Things You Should Know

Do your research before opting for the least expensive. You may be doing more harm than good. For instance,  this supplier, has caps which are very inexpensive, but  they also contain Magnesium Stearate which has had it’s own debate whether excess amounts of this actually cause cancer though there have been much debate on the issue but obviously California thinks so.

Also do your studying. This is an example of  the Turkey Tail Mushroom caps , as you can see a lot of filler, magnesium sterates and silica….which worries me, and doesn’t speficially say Colorius mushroom. So I would not personally buy this brand without more clarification.  If I was okay with the extra additives I may opt for this one which says Turkey Tail and has Colorius, so I would pick that out of the two choices—just be careful to get the right kind!

Then if you want the all over body booster, you can get the powders mixed in with all kinds of  ingredients like  this stuff great protein powders and gosh knows what as a dietary supplement. Of course who knows about giving all these things to a dog. He may look like Arnie Schwarzenegger  in no time and of course what worries me is the Carbs and obvious glucose…. I am supposed to keep Buford off some carbs because how they break down into glucose or sugar, which in turn feeds the cancer.

So what did I opt for ?

I went with Mushroom Science Mushroom Science, Coriolus PSP, 400 mg, 90 Vegetarian Capsules.   I got them on sale with free shipping at Super Supplements, and at their sale price it came to about  .26 a serving and even with 7 pills a day, that’s only $1.82 per day.   I also want to tell you that many things are available on Amazon and you can get free super saver shipping if you buy over a certain amount.

My search for magic mushrooms are over.

====

Buford’s Health Today is good. He has visibly lost weight on this new diet and last night became very picky with his vegetables. I mixed broccoli, one carrot, kale and collard greens together and he left it.  I am going to try to make a small batch of each separately and see which one it is he does not care for. That will add a bit of prep time onto dinner but he’s worth it.

5 Responses to “Mushroom Caps for Dogs With Cancer Imyunity Magic Mushrooms”

  1. Kimber's mom April 28, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    So sorry your Buford has this cancer…. my Shiloh Shepherd Kimber, had surgery 3 weeks ago to remove her right anal gland and tumor for her anal sac carcinoma. I read about a dog who did not do chemo and used piroxicam, IP-6 and agaricus blazei mushrooms. I am trying this as well. Best wishes to you and Buford.

    • Ira Mency May 9, 2013 at 2:10 am #

      Please let me know how this works and best to you and Kimber. Buford has been alive over 2.5 years after his initial anal gland removal. Had I learned all this i would have started it back then and who knows, maybe it would not have returned? Since you are starting this protocol now you are ahead of the game.

      • Kimber's Mom April 22, 2015 at 7:17 am #

        How is your Buford…. I’m afraid to ask…… I never realized you had replied to my post…… sadly, I lost my beloved Kimber 16 weeks ago….she had become a paraplegic shortly after her surgery and was wheelchair bound the rest of her life. I am devastated with her loss and miss her tremendously.

  2. Michelle April 14, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    My black lab just recently diagnosed with hemangiosarcoma on his spleen. He is only 4 years old. I have been reading a lot of articles about mushroom Coriolous. My question is how much would you recommended for a 90 lb dog?

  3. Susie June 6, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    I just ordered the capsules you got from I herbs.com. What would be the dosage for an 85 pound dog?

Leave a Reply

