Lymphoma in Basset Hounds

24 Apr

The first PH treatment cycle is done. Buford is doing wonderful and runs and plays with his friends. We took a very long walk in the park the other day and like usual I was tired out before he was. He did three laps around the park and was sometimes running. I seriously can’t believe he has the cancer inside of him; or that I wanted to put him down just two weeks ago, or that he is 13 and running and playing this much. He is obviously supercharged on his diet, additives and appears to be healthy as a horse; though looks can be deceiving.  He is so very brave, he’s kicking cancer’s a*s right now even though cancer is growing fast inside him.

I found a great article about Cancer in the Lymph nodes at the American Cancer Society,  and explains just what it is the lymph system does.  Ironically it mentions that cancer either STARTS THERE aka Lymphoma or spreads there from a previous onset.  Now the old vet I had did think that cancer recurred from his previous anal gland cancer.  I was starting to wonder if since Basset Hounds get Lymphoma quite often( and this seems to be the common killer of this breed, )if it is at all possible if the original cancer was cured, but the Lymphoma started on it’s own.  I guess it doesn’t matter and maybe I’ll never know but if so, I’m even more lucky to have Buford right now, as Lymphoma seems to be quick and agressive and some basset hounds succumb to it in two months. I’m pretty certain he’s five months in now since the “recurrence” now in his lymph nodes or ” the new lymphoma” started and that to me is amazing.

Ironically I also found this article on a company getting a $20 million dollar grant to study the effects of using a drug CD47 or Anti CD47  to shrink cancer tumors. Read about it here. 

My only comment is if any company, or person,  finds a cure will the powers that be actually let them market it and really use it on people, as that I am sure would cut out the need for a lot of drugs, big pharma and the money in the chemo industry. I think I just answered my own question.

===========================================================================

Buford’s Health Today………is great. He spent some time outside with me gardening, and napped in the sun like lazy hounds often do. He’s been hungry and I’ve been feeding him half portions twice a day instead of once per day.  I may do the PH protocol one more time, but we have Carnivora on the way.

If for some reason Buford’s cancer went away, shrank or disappeared, I would never be able to tell you what worked and when, at this point we are trying everything and anything we can get our hands on, and there are so many protocols happening at once that perhaps it would only be luck or the act of God or the alien life forces of the Pyramids or maybe the green guys living on Neptune to save him now. In other words, I have no idea what we are doing anymore as we are doing so much. I only know that Buford’s quality of life is off the charts. He has the energy of a 5 year old puppy and he’s 13.  I think I’m going to start eating his diet. I guess Buford is the test host and since he can’t talk as much as I’d like him to, we may never know just what is working for him, now will we?

 

 

4 Responses to “Lymphoma in Basset Hounds”

  1. Michael August 5, 2015 at 1:25 pm #

    Dear owner of Buford,

    I have a Basset Hound who has Lymphoma and I’d love to know what kind of diet you put Buford on? My dog Huxley doesn’t want to eat at all and is going down hill quickly. Any advice or help would be great!

    Thanks so much!
    Michael

    • Admin November 25, 2016 at 1:36 am #

      i am sorry to hear about your dog. His full diet was here in this blog.

  2. carol steele March 19, 2019 at 11:45 pm #

    My 3 year old Bassett Hound/Blue Heeler just passed away from lymphoma he just made it to his 3rd birthday. I am completely heart broken. I would love to adopt another Bassett Hound/Blue Heeler when the time is right but I am terrified the same thing will happen again.Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Carol

    • Admin March 17, 2024 at 5:05 pm #

      I was sad to hear about your Bassett Hound, and I hope by now you have become Mom to a new pet. The only thing I can suggest is holistically making their food. A lot of the dog food we feed them is pure crap. I now feed my dogs pulled chicken and carrots which I crock pot and add to dry kibble. I kept some kibble because of their teeth, and use oats if they need extra fiber for their anal glands.
      I just think some breeds are more prone to cancer, like the Basset Hound, or English BullDogs.

Leave a comment